45th Annual Conference and Business Meeting

Good facilities, entertainment, great training and fun filled weekend was had by those that attended the 45th Annual Conference and Business Meeting that was held at the West Des Moines Marriott in West Des Moines on March 31, April 1-2, 2017. Immediate Past President Amy Johnson was the conference chairperson.

The Board of Directors meeting was held on Friday morning, allowing all of the board members to help set up for the conference on Friday afternoon. Later in the day, as the other guests arrived, many were able to greet old friends that they had not seen since the last conference.

Friday evening, everyone was able to meet in the ISRLOA hospitality room and visit and enjoy the company of those that they may not have seen since the last conference. Those attending also enjoyed an evening of playing bag games.

Saturday morning began with registration and the opening ceremony. President Doug Goebel opened the 45th Annual Conference and Business Meeting by calling for the presentation of the colors by the West Des Moines PD Color Guard. After welcoming everyone President Goebel then introduced Conference Chairperson Amy Johnson, who then welcomed everyone to West Des Moines. Several gave a welcome to the attendees Including West Des Moines Chief James Barrett and Dallas County Chief Deputy Adam Infante (continued on next page)



Conference Chairperson Amy Johnson



President Doug Goebel



West Des Moines PD Color Guard



West Des Moines Chief James Barrett



Dallas County Chief Deputy Adam Infante

Summer 2017 / 19

The morning's activities finished with district meetings and the annual business meeting, which included reports of officers, business of the association and the election of a new 3rd Vice President. ILEA Director Judy Bradshaw also spoke to the members present.

The Saturday afternoon seminar was Explosive Hazard Recognition and Safety Awareness presented by John V. Simons and Michael G. Credidio.

Saturday evening began with the annual banquet. The guest speaker was retired Marshall County Sheriff Ted Kamatchus. During the banquet everyone was entertained by the mystery dinner theater group, the Dinner Detective.

Sunday morning started with a brunch, at which time the new 3rd Vice President, Todd Pettit of Urbandale PD was introduced. The trophies from the 2016 shoot were presented to the winners by ISRLOA Chief Range Officer Ted Kamatchus and Shoot Chairperson Mike Hartman.

The 2016 Outstanding Unit Award was presented to the Atlantic Police Reserve.

The conference was well attended and many enjoyed an educational and fun-filled weekend. Once again, exhibitors were on hand to show the latest equipment in law enforcement. The ISRLOA also had display tables showing many highlights of the association from the last 45 years.

The 46th Annual Conference and Business Meeting will be held in the spring 2018.



Iowa Law Enforcement Director Judy Bradshaw spoke to the members present at the annual meeting



The Registration Table



Getting registered



Glock firearms was a displayer at the conference

Conference Banquet Attendees

Many enjoyed the banquet on Saturday evening













2017 Conference Highlights



Saturday night murder mystery at the Banquet



OK who did it!! Trying to figure out who is the murderer



Guest speaker retired Sheriff Ted Kamatchus



The Saturday afternoon seminar



The Friday evening hospitality room bag games were enjoyed by all



Dennis Gruss from Carpenter Uniforms was again one of the displayers



Jordan Frahm (left) from Cherokee wins the Rifle that was raffled off



President Doug Goebel presents Immediate Past President Amy Johnson with life membership



Linn County Sheriff's Reserve 2016 state reserve team shoot winners



Outgoing President Doug Goebel gives the gavel to incoming President Mike Hartman



Atlantic Police Reserve 2016 Outstanding Unit Award winners



President Mike Hartman presents the "President's Plaque" to the new Immediate Past President Doug Goebel for serving as ISRLOA President for 2016