47th Annual Conference and Business Meeting

Good facilities, entertainment, great training and fun filled weekend was had by those that attended the 47th Annual Conference and Business Meeting that was held at the Isle Casino Hotel in Bettendorf on April 5-6-7, 2019. Immediate Past President Mike Hartman was the conference chairperson.

The Board of Directors meeting was held on Friday morning, allowing all of the board members to help set up for the conference on Friday afternoon. Later in the day, as the other guests arrived, many were able to greet old friends that they had not seen since the last conference.

Friday evening, everyone was able to meet in the ISRLOA hospitality room and visit and enjoy the company of those that they may not have seen since the last conference. Those attending also enjoyed an evening of playing bag games.

Saturday morning began with registration and the opening ceremony. President Randy Leventhal opened the 47th Annual Conference and Business Meeting by calling for the presentation of the colors by the Muscatine County SO Color Guard. After welcoming everyone President Leventhal then introduced Conference Chairperson Mike Hartman, who then welcomed everyone to Bettendorf. Several gave a welcome to the attendees including Muscatine County Sheriff A. J. Ryan and Scott County Sheriff Tim Lane. (continued on next page)



Conference Chairperson Mike Hartman



President Randy Leventhal



Bettendorf PD Chaplain Father Jason Crossen



Muscatine County Sheriff A. J. Ryan



Scott County Sheriff Tim Lane

The morning's activities finished with district meetings and the annual business meeting, which included reports of officers, business of the association and the election of a new 3rd Vice President.

The Saturday afternoon seminar was "Human Trafficking" presented by Steffani Simbric from the Iowa Law Enforcement Academy.

Saturday evening began with the annual banquet. The guest speaker was Keith Porter, President of the Stanley Foundation. After the banquet everyone was entertained by comedian Rex Havens.

Sunday morning started with a brunch, at which time the new 3rd Vice President, John Gahring of Linn County SO was introduced. The trophies from the 2018 shoot were presented to the winners by ISRLOA Chief Range Officer Joel Phillips from the Marshall County SO.

The 2018 Outstanding Unit Award was presented to the Buena Vista County Sheriff Reserve.

The conference was well attended and many enjoyed an educational and fun-filled weekend. Once again, exhibitors were on hand to show the latest equipment in law enforcement. The ISRLOA also had display tables showing many highlights of the association from the last 47 years.

The 48th Annual Conference and Business Meeting will be held in the spring 2020.



Muscatine County SO Color Guard presented the colors



The Registration Table



Davenport Guns was an exhibitor



Uniform Den displayed at the conference

20 / Summer 2019



L-R: Scott Mack and Randy Leventhal

AWARD OF EXCELLENCE

At the Saturday Evening Banquet Vice President Scott Mack presented President Randy Leventhal with the Award of Excellence. In presenting the award Scott Mack said the following: "On July 4, 2018, a 40 year old female collapsed in the crowd of the Annual Urbandale 4th of July parade. Urbandale Reserve Officers Randy LEventhal and Amy Swaner were on duty in the immediate vicinity directing traffic. Leventhal immediately radioed Westcom of a subject

down. During a quick assessment, the victim had no pulse, agonal breathing and was turning blue. Swaner began CPR and Leventhal radioed that CPR was in progress Leventhal went to get the AED out of his unit as Urbandale Officer Randy Peterson arrived with his AED.

Officer Peterson attached the AED and did one round of chest compressions. The AED recommended a shock to the victim and a shock was administered. During this time, Urbandale Fire Department personnel started to arrive. Peterson completed another two rounds of chest compressions when the victim started to come around. The victim was loaded onto the ambulance and transported to a hospital. Medics advised that early CPR and the AED delivering a shock were crucial to the victims survival.

Tonight we would like to honor Reserve Officer Randy Leventhal and Reserve Officer Amy Swaner with the association's Award of Excellence for their ability to demonstrate excellence, while either on duty or off-duty through actions and training."

Due to other commitments Reserve Officer Any Swaner was unable to attend and was presented her award at a later date.

CONFERENCE GUN DRAWING WINNERS

During the Saturday night banquet several weapons were given away during drawings.

D. A Wolfe Arms, LLC gave away a rifle and the winner was Ernie Morgan from the Muscatine County Sheriff's Reserve.

Davenport Guns also gave away to two hand guns and the winners were Brooke Schroeder from the Cherokee Police Reserve and Justin Sharp from the Muscatine County Sheriff's Reserve.

A big THANK YOU to D. A. Wolfe Arms and Davenport Arms for donating these guns.



SCHEELS \$500 GIFT CARD RAFFLE WINNER

ISRLOA Past President Bob McHugh presents the gift card to the winner, Atlantic Chief of Police Dave Erickson.

Conference Banquet Attendees

Many enjoyed the banquet on Saturday evening





22 / Summer 2019

2019 Conference Highlights



Saturday night entertainer Rex Havens at the Banquet



Card games in the hospitality area



Guest speaker Keith Porter



Many enjoyed the simulated shooting scenarios



The Friday evening bags tournament were enjoyed by all



"Human Trafficking" was the Saturday afternoon seminar



The conference attendees enjoy the buffet line

ISRLOA Chief Range Officer Joel Phillips gives the shoot trophy to Greg Warren



Linn County Sheriff's Reserve 2018 state reserve team shoot winners



Outgoing President Randy Leventhal gives the gavel to incoming President Scott Mack



Buena Vista County Sheriff Reserve 2018 Outstanding Unit Award winners



President Scott Mack presents the "President's Plaque" to the new Immediate Past President Randy Leventhal for serving as ISRLOA President for 2018