51st Annual Conference and Business Meeting

Good facilities, entertainment, great training and fun filled weekend was had by those that attended the 51st Annual Conference and Business Meeting that was held at the Marriott Hotel in West Des Moines on March 31-April 1-2, 2023. Immediate Past President Todd Pettit was the conference chairperson.

The Board of Directors meeting was held on Friday morning, allowing all of the board members to help set up for the conference on Friday afternoon. Later in the day, as the other guests arrived, many were able to greet old friends that they had not seen since the last conference.

Friday evening, everyone was able to meet in the ISRLOA hospitality room and visit and enjoy the company of those that they may not have seen since the last conference. Those attending also enjoyed an evening of playing bag games.

Saturday morning began with registration and the opening ceremony. President Mike Schleimer opened the 51st Annual Conference and Business Meeting by calling for the presentation of the colors by the Linn County Color Guard. After welcoming everyone President Schleimer then introduced Conference Chairperson Todd Pettit, who then welcomed everyone to West Des Moines. Several gave a welcome to the attendees including Attorney General Brenna Bird, Dallas County Sheriff Adam Infante, West Des Moines Captain Giampolo and Urbandale Chief Rob Johanson. (continued on next page)



Conference Chairperson Todd Pettit



President Mike Schleimer



West Des Moines Captain Giampolo



Dallas County Sheriff Adam Infante



Urbandale Chief Rob Johanson



Iowa Attorney General Brenna Bird

Summer 2023 / 19

The morning's activities finished with district meetings and the annual business meeting, which included reports of officers, business of the association and the election of a new 3rd Vice President.

The Saturday afternoon seminar was "Building Guardians and Warriors" by State Center Police Chief Jon Thomas.

Saturday evening began with the annual banquet. The guest speaker was Marshall County Sheriff and ISRLOA Chief Range Officer Joel Phillips. After the banquet everyone was entertained by comedian Vinnie Montez.

Sunday morning started with a brunch, at which time the new 3rd Vice President, Teresa Smith of Prairie City PD was introduced. The trophies from the 2022 shoot were presented to the winners by ISRLOA Chief Range Officer Joel Phillips.

The 2022 Outstanding Unit Award was presented to the Urbandale Police Reserve.

The conference was well attended and many enjoyed an educational and fun-filled weekend. Once again, exhibitors were on hand to show the latest equipment in law enforcement. The ISRLOA also had display tables showing many highlights of the association from the last 50 years.

The 52nd Annual Conference and Business Meeting will be held in the spring of 2024.



The Registration Table



Iowa C.O.P.S. was an exhibitor



The afternoon training session



ISRLOA display area

20 / Summer 2023

The Iowa State Reserve Law Officers Association would like to "Give Thanks" to the corporate sponsors that donated to our Silent Auction and/or Door Prizes at our 2023 Annual Conference and Business Meeting on March 31-April 1-2, 2023 in West Des Moines.



HENRY RIFLE RAFFLE WINNER



ISRLOA President Mike Schleimer presents the Henry rifle to the winner, Marco Barahona from Storm Lake at the Sunday Brunch.

VISA \$500 GIFT CARD RAFFLE WINNER



The winner of the \$500 Visa gift card was Josh Weber from Storm Lake, Iowa.

2023 Conference Highlights



Saturday night entertainer Vinnie Montez



Enjoying the Saturday night Banquet



Guest speaker Marshall County Sheriff Joel Phillips



Chief Jon Thomas teaching the training session



Winners of the Friday evening bags tournament that was enjoyed by all attending



The Linn County Sheriff's Reserve Honor Guard resenting the colors at the opening ceremony

22 / Summer 2023



The conference attendees enjoy the buffet line



President Mike Schleimer (R) presents Life Membership to Past President Todd Pettit (L)



Linn County Sheriff's Reserve 2022 state reserve team shoot winners



Outgoing President Mike Schleimer gives the gavel to incoming President John Gahring



Urbandale Police Reserve 2022 Outstanding Unit Award winners



President John Gahring presents the "President's Plaque" to the new Immediate Past President Mike Schliemer for serving as ISRLOA President for 2022

Summer 2023 / 23